Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Appointee Resignation: Three ministers resign, six more to follow

Three ministers have reportedly resigned their appointments to pursue the presidential seat.

Technocrat Media, Abuja

Three ministers have reportedly resigned their appointments to pursue the presidential seat.

Tolu Ogunlesi, special assistant to the president on digital and new media, disclosed this on his verified Twitter handle.

On Wednesday, President Buhari directed that FEC members with political ambitions must submit their resignation letters on or before Monday the 16th of May, 2022.

Also, on Thursday, the Secretary to the government of the federation also issued a circular which directed all ministers, heads of extra-ministerial departments, and agencies seeking elective offices in the 2023 general elections to resign on the date set by the president.

Nine ministers who have declared their interests to run for office are directly affected by the president’s directive:

  1. Rotimi Amaechi (Minister of Transportation) – already resigned
  2. Godswill Akpabio (Minister of Niger Delta Affairs) – already resigned
  3. Ogbonnaya Onu (Minister of Science, Technology, and Innovation)- already resigned

Others who are yet to resign include:

  1. Abubakar Malami (Minister of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation)
  2. Chris Ngige (Minister of Labour and Employment)
  3. Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba (Minister of State for Education)
  4. Uche Ogar (Minister of State Mines and Steel)
  5. Pauline Tallen (Minister of Women Affairs)
  6. Timipre Sylva Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba (Minister of State for Education)

Jackson Udom, the media aide to Akpabio, confirmed the resignation of his principal in a statement issued on Wednesday, while Onu was said to have submitted his resignation letter to the office of the secretary to the government of the federation (SGF).

“Yes. He has just submitted his nomination form to the organising secretary of the party,” Udom told TheCable in a text message.

More resignations are expected to happen on or before Monday as directed by the president to battle for the presidential ticket of the ruling APC alongside Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo, Lagos former governor Bola Tinubu and former President Goodluck Jonathan, who has reportedly joined the party in his home state, Bayelsa.

Excellent journalism is expensive. It is only the same that can help to build our society and country to entrench good governance, development and ensure justice for all.

We need your support for investigative findings and special reports to demand accountable and transparent government. DONATE today to help us stay relevant to serve your quest for accurate and authentic stories.

DONATE TO 0450702364, naira OR 0657626454, USD – GTBANK


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Like Our Facebook Page

You May Also Like


The presidency has said that the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) has no reason not to obey the ruling of the Supreme Court on...


President Muhammadu Buhari cast his vote at his Daura polling unit on Saturday in Daura.

Sticky Post

President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday signed the 2023 appropriation bill of N21.83 trillion into law.


The upper chamber of the National Assembly on Wednesday went into a rowdy session following some senators’ rejections against a request by President Muhammadu...


President Muhammadu Buhari who is currently in Washington, says he has done his best for Nigeria.

Finance & Money Market

President Muhammadu Buhari has said the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) has his backing to redesign some naira notes.