Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Biodun Oyebanji wins Ekiti APC governorship primaries amid controversies

Biodun Oyebanji has defeated other aspirants to win the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship primary election in Ekiti state.


Biodun Oyebanji has defeated other aspirants to win the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship primary election in Ekiti state.

Mr Oyebanji who is a former secretary to the Ekiti State Government emerged winner of the primary election held on Thursday in Ado-Ekiti amid controversies.

In the results declared, he polled 101,703 votes in the direct primary adopted by the party in Ekiti.

His closest opponents; Ojo Kayode polled 767, a serving senator, Bamidele Opeyemi had 760 and Dayo Adeyeye polled 691 votes.

91 votes.

The returning officer, Mohhamed Badaru who is the governor of Jigawa state and chairman of the primary election committee set up by the APC national headquarters announced the result.

Mr Oyebanji according to the outcome of the primary election will be the APC’s standard-bearer in the governorship election to be conducted on June 18 by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

He is a seasoned administrator who has served in at least three governments since Ekiti was created in 1996 by the late Sani Abacha.

Oyebanji served as the special adviser on parliamentary affairs in the administration of Niyi Adebayo, a former governor of Ekiti.

He was chief of staff to Kayode Fayemi, the incumbent governor, in his first term.

Mr Oyebanji is believed to be backed by governor Fayemi and the current minister of trade and investments, Adebayo.

Meanwhile, seven aspirants had announced their withdrawal from the primary election on Thursday morning having alleged that governor Fayemi was plotting the emergence of Mr Oyebanji.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Like Our Facebook Page

You May Also Like

Election Petition

Peter Obi, presidential candidate of the Labour Party (LP) in the February 25 presidential election, has filed a petition at the presidential election tribunal...


Abba Yusuf, the gubernatorial candidate of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) has been declared the winner of the Kano governorship election by the...


Aisha Yesufu, a Nigerian activist and chieftain of the Labour Party (LP), says Bola Ahmed Tinubu, the president-elect is begging the international communities and...


The United Nations (UN) has asked political parties and candidates aggrieved with the results of last Saturday’s presidential elections to seek legal redress.


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Bola Ahmed Tinubu of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as Nigeria's president-elect.


As of 2.00 am the early hours of March 1, 2023, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) says the presentation of results of the...